MEDIA RELEASE: Upgrade Funding for Southern Cross Stadium

A re-elected Liberal Government will deliver $200,000 as part of a much-needed refurbishment of Tuggeranong’s Southern Cross Stadium.

The five court stadium is utilised by community teams, including 572 junior teams, 175 senior social teams as well as premier teams in the ACT, and has not been refurbished since first opening in 1997.

The funding will see a full refurbishment of stadium floors including sanding and refinishing, new backboards, scoreboard upgrades, repairs to the bathrooms and facilities, lighting upgrades, painting and some new mini stands.

Liberal Senator for the ACT, Zed Seselja said community basketball facilities had been overlooked by the ACT Government for too long, and now the Federal Liberal Government was stepping up.

“With thousands of players and their parents out on the courts each weekend these upgrades will mean a better experience for the whole community,” Minister Seselja said.

Ian Mackay, Canberra Southern Cross Club CEO, said this funding would help foster the thousands of young aspiring athletes that play on the courts each weekend.

“The Club is delighted to receive the commitment to this much needed funding support. The Southern Cross Stadium is run on a community model where no profit is made from the operation of the Stadium,” Mr Mackay said.

“Through COVID it has been impossible to find the funds to keep the stadium to a standard our Community can be proud of. This support will be a huge boost to the thousands of kids and adults that play in the Stadium each week. We appreciate the support of Zed Seselja in recognising our need here in the Tuggeranong Valley,” Mr Mackay said.

“The Liberal Government’s strong economic management is what allows us to invest in projects like this that deliver the sport infrastructure for Canberrans,” Senator Seselja said.

“Only our government has a plan to keep our economy strong and secure the future of the Australian Capital Territory.”


Senator the Hon. Zed Seselja 
Liberal Senator for the ACT